Guru

Guru (Mani Ratnam, 2007)

*SPOILER WARNING*

 

Pretty much anyone will tell you that Guru is essentially a biopic. If you look up Dhirubhai Ambani (wait until after you’ve seen the film, so you can still enjoy it on its own filmi merits like I did) you’ll see that there are way, way too many striking parallels between the plot of the film and its fictional protagonist Gurukant Desai, and the rags to riches life of textiles baron Dhirubhai Ambani for it to be mere coincidence.
Besides, making a Bollywood film about a guy who is just really really passionate about textiles? There’s got to be something else going on, right?
But that, beautiful blog readers, is the question. What IS this film REALLY about? I’ll lay all my cards out on the table right now and tell you three key things:
1. Before I started watching I thought this movie was going to be really really boring. Because let’s face it: “A semi-fictionalised account of the life of a polyester baron” doesn’t really sound like a gripping thrill-ride of emotion.
2. I was wrong: this film is not boring at all. I REALLY REALLY ENJOYED IT.

3. Days later, I am still not sure exactly what Mani-sir was trying to say. But actually this might be why I enjoyed it so much. I love films that inhabit and explore those grey areas – and Bollywood is so black and white so often, it’s refreshing to plunge into murky, puzzling territory every now and then.

I just really liked this shot. So we’ll say it’s to illustrate my ‘shades of grey’ point. 

So the story of Guru is, like I said up there somewhere, an account of the life of a polyester baron, and how Gurukant Desai (Abhishek Bachchan) works his way up from being a small-time textile merchant to one of the most powerful men in India. Or if you want to look at it another way: Abhishek Bachchan goes from fresh-faced bright young thing:

Scho schweet! I wanna pinch his cheeks!

to this:

Dude needs to shave.

Guru is undoubtedly a character defined by his ambition. The most interesting question this film raises is: at what point does ‘ambition’, or what a person is willing to do in the name of ‘progress’ become a negative thing? Initially Guru’s ambition to succeed is endearing; the cheekiness and ingenuity he exhibits in finding loopholes to open the doors closed to him as a newcomer to the textiles market is admirable and as an audience member, I am totally on his side.

Fast forward to the peak of Guru’s career, when he wields much more power, but uses those same tools: cheekiness, charm, ingenuity, plus his powerful standing with the government and society to remove obstacles from the path to further progress. Like changing the law to suit his needs. Like using the media to run a smear campaign against his competitors. Am I still on his side? Even if the ultimate result of what he is doing is “for the public good” and for the “progress” of India?

The waters are muddied further when, just as Guru is being portrayed as a ‘bad’ guy, the ‘good guys’ out to expose his dodgy business dealings resort to faking evidence to support their claims. Am I really on their side? Even if what Guru is doing is technically wrong, so is what THEY are doing – who is going to expose them? If everyone is corrupt, does it matter?

R. Madhavan plays Shyam Saxena, a reporter bent on exposing Guru’s deceit. 

There’s no black and white answer, because human beings are neither wholly good nor wholly bad. Good people can do terrible things; bad people are capable of acts of kindness. And that’s why I like Guru. Abhishek’s Gurukant is neither a saint nor a villain, he’s a human being. Flawed, ambitious, out of shape:

Flabhishek?
 

at times admirable, at times despicable, but understandably, recognisably human. So are all the characters – flawed, realistic, recognisable. Except for maybe Aishwarya, who doesn’t appear to age at all.

Pretty, na?
Key to it all, I think, is that for a film about a businessman reputed to be involved in some pretty dodgy practices, and climaxing in a court-case revolving around said claims, Guru doesn’t really spend much time at all showing anything to do with business (thank god, because: SNORE).
Instead, the film focuses on relationships. There are several key relationships, but two major ones.

There’s Guru’s relationship with his wife, Sujata (Aishwarya Rai). Initially, he marries her because he needs the dowry money (and before you tut tut, remember it’s only relatively recently in the West that marriage HASN’T been a pure business transaction) and she is damaged goods, having already tried to run off with another man.  The love that blossoms between them is an unexpected gift. Abhi and Aish together in this film are so adorably convincingly in love, I was not at all surprised when I read it was just after Guru released that they announced their engagement. Seriously, the scene where they start playfighting in bed? THEY ARE SO NOT ACTING. I AM WILLING TO BET ON THIS.

Stop calling me Flabishek. It’s not funny anymore.

The other relationship that is hugely significant to Guru is his father figure/nemesis Manikdas Gupta (Mithun Chakraborty). Gupta helps Guru as he is starting out in Bombay, and Guru remains intensely loyal to him. Both men are hugely stubborn about their increasingly opposing values and ideals, though, and even when this endangers their friendship neither is willing to back down, despite a deep bond of love that links them.

I do dabble in disco dance. I’d be delighted to demonstrate.
So that’s what I think Guru is partly about, and what the message boils down to: you are defined not by what you do for a living, but by the relationships you forge in life.
But I’m still figuring it out. One thing’s for sure. I cannot wait for Raavan.

9 thoughts on “Guru

  1. I wonder why so many people were so disappointed by this movie? I guess your follow-up comments will probably answer that question. I'm like you, I CAN'T WAIT for Raavan. And Raavanan.

    Like

  2. Were they? I didn't know that! The climax of the film does let it down, I think – so that probably doesn't do it any favours. But apart from that, it's got so much going for it. Good music, lovely cinematography, strong script (until the weak climax, sigh) and strong acting. Abhishek OWNS it in this film! I thought he did a really good job.

    Like

  3. Yaay for some Guru love, like Ajnabi there were lots of people who didn't like this, but as usual I loooved it! Abhishek's performance was just superb n I can't resist an actor who goes all method on us and gains weight for the role lol! I've watched tooo many De Niro n Method men movies! But I liked how they showed his downward spiral of alienating his friends and at the end of it all he was just a really flawed guy!

    Like

  4. @Rum – yeah that's how I saw it too (you totally put it better than I did!): he starts out as an enthusiastic normal guy but at some point that drive ends up alienating at least some of the people who he was closest to. And it seemed to me the message of the movie was you have to think very carefully about your priorities in life and what it is you want to preserve, because what, or WHO, is going to be there for you when all the wealth and power fades?Hmmm. I liked it anyway! Plus it was super pretty and the music rocked! BRING ON RAAVAN (because it has the added bonus of my superdupercrush No 1, GOVINDA!)

    Like

  5. Fantastic review. I really enjoyed this film. I thought Abhishek was perfectly cast and his journey from idealistic young man to ambitous businessman was very strong. I loved the scene with Aish and Abhi on the swing, it was so romantically perfect. Plus with Mallika in something like Mayya Mayya how could you go wrong!?

    Like

  6. You've inspired me to get the DVD from Netflix again and actually watch it this time. I too was put off by the concept of 3 hours about business..yuck! Sounds like I might like it though plus…Mani. Who can resist that?

    Like

  7. Does a biopic have a “message” to convey? Surely it is no more no less than a biography – something that fulfills the need of the subject to talk about him/herself and acquaint others with his own vision of himself? I wonder why Mani Ratnam chose this particular subject, though. I did like the film a lot, but I think it was more in relief that it wasn't another Yuva! Abhiwarya were great, but my favorite was the Vidya-Madhavan track – so heartwarming… And it was a lovely surprise to see Mithun in a good role, one that didnt demand “dancing” of him!

    Like

  8. @bollyviewer but that's just the thing – if you're making a biopic, make a biopic, fine, but you still have to have a point of view about the person you are profiling. especially one as seemingly controversial as Ambani. Hence there's always going to be some kind of message, I think, be it overt or subtle. Plus – why hide behind a semi-fictionalised version if it's just a biopic? I still think there's something more complex going on, but maybe that's just my overly analytical film studies brain at work.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.