Endless love

Rockstar (Imtiaz Ali, 2011)
 
 
 
So here’s the thing: I know I am coming to this movie a bajillion months late in the game (when do I not?) but you have to understand this one vital piece of information:
From the moment I saw the trailer for Rockstar I had absolutely ZERO interest in it whatsoever.
 
Forget that it’s an Imtiaz Ali film, and that I am yet to write up Ali’s previous directorial effort Love Aaj Kal because it’s one of those movies I put in the “I love it too much, it’s too hard to write about” basket. Forget that it stars Ranbir Kapoor – one of THOSE  (glorious) Kapoors, star of one of my all time favourite feel good films (Wake Up Sid), who, with every single film he does (be it to my personal taste or not) is undeniably proving himself as a talent to be reckoned with. Forget that Imtiaz Ali opted NOT to go with his regular music director Pritam, instead getting A.R. Rahman to compose a supersized 14 track soundtrack – hello, epic?
Zero interest. The trailer seemed to foreground precisely the aspects of Ranbir’s star persona I tend to dislike: the goofy, naïve clowning of a man-child; before turning into a parade of “and then, and then” moments of a glowering, emo musician snarling and acting shitty intercut with shots of the apparent cause of it all – a girl, whom he alternately moons over and screams over.
It just looked simultaneously overblown and kind of boring.
FORGET THAT. Seriously – what do I know? Luckily, I have a bunch of enthusiastic, informed blogging/tweeting friends whose opinions I trust and respect, and who WOULD NOT STOP PRAISING this film from the moment it came out.* Naturally, such enthusiastic praise for something I had completely written off only piqued my interest, so I decided, HELL, WHY NOT? I’ll give Rockstar a shot.
AND THANK GOODNESS I DID, BECAUSE ROCKSTAR IS PHENOMENAL.
Opening with a quote from Rumi:
Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing
and rightdoing there is a field.
I’ll meet you there.
and partially based on the romantic legend of Heer and Ranhja, Rockstar is the kind of love story that has been celebrated through the ages, but largely missing from the screens of late: cosmic fated love of the truly epic, tragic variety. We’re used to seeing Bollywood (and Hollywood) equate romance with sunshine and laughter, with separations and hurdles regarded as minor blips on the path to the inevitable happy ending…but what about those other stories? What about when love is bound up with misunderstanding, and pain, tortured souls and ultimate unhappiness?
I’m a sucker for doomed romance, and that’s probably a large part of why I ended up loving Rockstar. Imtiaz Ali shows rather than tells, and allows the audience to ‘fill in the gaps’ of their own experiences – in conveying the pain of loving someone. Also, I watched this film a week after breaking up with my boyfriend. So it hit kind of close to home. **
I’m not really doing a great job of NOT making it sound overblown, am I? And that’s part of it – Rockstar does have a timeless, epic feel, stretching  out the scanty story of how ambitious student musician Janardhan Jhakar (Ranbir Kapoor) goes from naïve kid JJ, strumming his guitar for commuters at bus stops, talking about heartbreak in abstract terms because he doesn’t yet know what it is, to jaded, fucked up superstar “Jordan”, whose problem is that he got everything he wanted, except the chance to be with the love of his life. People have taken issue with Nargis Fakhri’s performance as Heer, the object of Jordan’s eternal affection, but to me, what stood out the most in their relationship – portrayed as if some kind of unseen magnetic attraction existed between them, misunderstood by all around them – was the idea that when you are in a relationship, you can’t necessarily explain to anyone else why you love the person you love. You can’t necessarily even explain it to THEM. You just do, like it is meant to be – and again, maybe Rumi explains it best:
The minute I heard my first love story,
I started looking for you, not knowing
how blind that was.
Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere,
they’re in each other all along.
Maybe you either love this film or you hate it, but to me, it felt like it was a film I had been waiting to see for years. If that’s not ridiculously overblown and intense, I don’t know what is, but it’s that kind of affecting. I cannot wait to see what Imtiaz Ali does next. And I can’t believe I very nearly missed this one.
* Actually, I was stunned to learn AFTER I finally watched, and fell head over heels in love with the film, that Rockstar is one of those extraordinarily divisive films that some people just don’t get, or even hate. Actually, I’m not so much stunned about that, because I can understand why people wouldn’t like the film – it’s long, and slow and meandering and even possibly confusing in parts, and it’s actually not what it says it is on the tin: this isn’t a simple Bollywood love story about a rockstar and his girlfriend and the rise and fall and rise of his career. It’s much more epic and challenging than that; and it is immensely painful – or was for me – and depends a lot on what life experience the viewer brings to the story.
 
** Add into the mix the last film appearance of Shammi Kapoor, which in itself is worth watching the film for – just seeing Ranbir Kapoor clearly in awe of his grand uncle when they are dueting together on The Dichotomy of Fame is enough to start the tears flowing if you are a softie like me.

8 thoughts on “Endless love

  1. Heee! I think I might be one of those blogging/twitter friends. 😀 And for once I am happy my big mouth got someone's attention in a good way. :)Rockstar is such a complicated piece of work, and I think mostly it's because of what you said above: Imtiaz Ali shows, doesn't tell. Too many people watching Indian movies these days are used to being told, they're used to going to the washroom during the songs, they're used to neat, even redundant storytelling. And Imtiaz Ali went against ALL that and said: no, bitches, you're gonna sit there and watch this movie from beginning to end and you're gonna give me both your hearts and your brains. 😀 And well… some of us did, a lot didn't. I've said this before: the people who didn't get it because they couldn't be bothered – are missing out. Oh well, more for us! 🙂

    Like

  2. You are indeed one of the aforementioned friends, and THANK HEAVENS for people who make me reconsider my ridiculous prejudices based on silly things like an ineffective trailer.OH I LOVE THIS FILM, I LOVE IT, and like we talked about on Twitter, yeah, there are people who won't love it, and I can see why. I can get that. But it's a shame if there are people like me who dodge it because of some dumb reason like “oh I don't think I'd like it” because it is what you bring to it, more than any other film I have EVER seen.

    Like

  3. Another fantastic review, thanks! I still have absolutely zero interest in seeing it, a feeling reinforced by every blog I read about it, BUT I am very grateful to Rockstar for inspiring so many passionate, articulate paeans. I wish I could write half as well and with half the ardour that my many Rockstar-loving friends have done when singing its praises. I especially like the way you've managed to bring out something very different about it – each blogger seems to find something else to laud, and that makes reading the reviews endlessly interesting. Well done!I do have one small question, though. You said “persuading A.R. Rahman to compose his first mainstream Bollywood soundtrack in several years” but IMDb says that since 2008 ARR has done the music for JTYJN, Ghajini, Delhi-6, Ravaan/an, each releasing in consecutive years. I thought several of them would be considered mainstream Bollywood?

    Like

  4. Good point – I don't remember where I got that from, but yeah – Ghajini for sure was mainstream, though I think the rest could be argued over. I think it probably came down to me reading the one article where someone employed an extremely subjective and creative interpretation of “mainstream”. Delhi-6 and JTYJN you could argue were a little more indie/arty/fringe-ish; Raavan, definitely was more arty though they tried to market it as a mainstream movie (all these opinions obviously are my own, subjective takes…I can't get round Ghajini though, so I edited what I wrote, LOL).

    Like

  5. Rockstar…. is in my oppinion a modern day classic. There has been a serious lack of INTENSE love stories in Bollywood of late, the last memorable one was probably Veer-Zaara, but as a Yash Chopra film it was all neatly presented in a nice wrap up of colours, melodies and with a traditional ideals. Rockstar is an INTENSE love story presented in a very modern way, not at all clean and innocent. I couldn´t care less for Nargis´ questionable perfromance, because teh story (and Ranbir as Jordan) is so overwhelming it is just more important than everything else.

    Like

  6. TOTALLY agree. The last romance film I watched similar in tone was the Sunny Deol one, Sohni Mahiwal which is based on an epic love story like the Heer Ranjha/ Laila Majnu stories. They just don't make films like that much these days.

    Like

  7. I feel that my comments on your posts are mostly the same… but who cares:I am DIYING to see Rockstar! And I'm a little afraid of not liking it, because my expectations are high.

    Like

  8. I thought Rockstar was ok. I like you was very prejudiced against the film not because of a trailer but because Ranbir was in it. I have since seen Wake up Sid, Bachna Ae Haseeno, Rocket salesman of the year, even Anjaani Anjaani ( which surprisingly he was tres sexy in) and my thoughts towards him have changed. No he isnt some sulky spoilt man-child with a mean streak ( i dont know where i get this from) but a quite good actor with great potential and a good onscreen chemistry. coming from someone who has had an epic love story, i didnt find the love in this epic, but rather mundane. Nargis completly ***ked me off because her acting was so bad, urrrgh. but I feel you.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.